Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #90 Alive by Scott Sigler

Welcome to Teaser Tuesdays! Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm.  Anyone can play along! Just do the following: Grab your current read Open to a random page Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!) Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! My Teaser Tuesday is for the following...

Alive by Scott Sigler
Publisher: Del ReyExpected Publication Date: July 14, 2015

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Risingcomes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival. 

“I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid.”

A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers.

She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust each other.

Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

Teasers from page 7
(If you run, your enemy will hunt you. Kill your enemy, and you are forever free.)

Teaser from page 39
"So that's all you know," he says. "That's it?"
I nod.
"Then you don't know much."
He doesn't say it accusingly. It's a fact. 
"We," I say. "We don't know much."
He nods slowly. "We. Yes, we."
There is strength in that word. 

*PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your ‘teasers’ in a comment here if you don’t have a blog Thanks! 


  1. Excellent teaser. Yes, I will definitely be on the lookout for this one.. on the TBR pile it goes. Thanks for bringing this one to my radar.

    Marsha @ KeeperBookshelf.com

    My Tease

  2. I'm curious to know what the world setting surrounding this character is like, because to be convinced of such measures (as in the teaser) is intense! Great teaser!

    My Teaser

  3. First, I really like this cover. It's very different from what we can see in the genre and it makes me want to pick it up.
    Second, the blurb convinces me to add this book to my TBR. Third, your teasers are great. :)
    How is it so far?


    1. Haha! Love your reasons! It's so good! I'm incredibly captivated by it!!

  4. This has now become a must read! I can't wait to get my hands on it once it's released! Thanks for sharing!

    My TT - http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/03/17/teaser-tuesdays-106-confess-by-colleen-hoover/

  5. I'm thrilled you're all excited for the book, and I hope you enjoy the read.

  6. Did you know you can create short links with Shortest and earn cash for every click on your shortened links.