Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday - Silver In the Blood by Jessica Day George

Welcome to Waiting On Wednesday here at

 Winterhaven Books!

This is a feature created by Jill at Breaking The Spine where we share some books we are anxiously awaiting.

Britt's Pick...

Silver In the Blood by Jessica Day George
Expected Publication: July 7, 2015 by Bloomsbury Children's USA

New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.  Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might. With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.


I am the (probably) the most fanatical fantasy lover you will ever meet! Jessica Day George has been a huge favorite of mine since her Princess of the Midnight Ball series. She really knows how to navigate a retelling while keeping it interesting. I am stoked to see what she can do with a Romanian setting! Let the Persian gowns flow!! 

What book are you waiting on? 

Leave us a comment and let us know!


  1. I so think that this is going to be a good book. I mean who doesn't love a good fantasy. Excellent WOW choice.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  2. If I don't stop soon my want to and to be read piles are going to go through the ceiling tiles! This sounds like a really fun read.

    Marsha @ Keeper Bookshelf

  3. OH WOW!! That is one beautiful cover!! And what an interesting story!! Thanks for putting this on your waiting on wed. Never heard of it before.

    Check out our WOW Post

    Happy Reading, Siobhán @ Totally Bookalicious

  4. I have not read this author, but I have seen the cover of this and think it is one I might want to try. Great choice!
    Check out my WOW

  5. This sounds so good! I haven't heard of it yet! Great one. I love shapeshifting stories. Happy reading.
    Waiting on Weds @Libby Blog