Monday, May 23, 2016

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten

Today I am participating in the blog tour for Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten!  For my stop I have my review to share and a giveaway!

Beware That GirlBeware That Girl by Teresa Toten
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: May 31st, 2016
Purchase: Amazon
For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.

The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brian appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.

As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.

When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives—becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?
My thoughts:
Beware That Girl had an eerie vibe from the start, but I'm completely in shock over how dark this book ended up being.  Since dark is kinda my thing it should come as no surprise that I loved all the twisted goodness!

Okay so this is dark and I will admit I felt squeamish during certain parts.  The description lets you know that Mark Redkin is an obstacle and a bad one at that.  What I wasn't prepared for was how involved Mark would be with Olivia and how toxic their relationship ended up being.  Like I said at times I felt sick and I read with one eye open during their scenes after awhile.  This was all completely messed up, but this story line set the stage for the real mind twist and at the end I totally had my mouth hanging open!

I'm totally fascinated by how the story evolved and totally took a very psychotic turn at the end.  I mean I have seen stories take a turn, but never like this.  Honestly I want a sequel after that ending!  What's also amazing is how the author quietly pulled this off!  I saw signs sure, but never once did I think she planned to end things the way she did.  Again I want a sequel!  I think if this story were to continue it would be all kinds of crazy, messed up, and a gripping thriller that I know I wouldn't ever forget!  I won't forget this story any time soon don't get me wrong, it was a very strong story, but man I want to see that aftermath!

A little warning, this does have a Gossip Girlesque feel to it at times. It didn't bother me though because it was dark and the author did a good job at keeping it dark throughout.  From Kate's past to Olivia's "problem" it all had a very dark cloud hanging over it so the story wasn't lost in designer dresses and rich kid situations.  I appreciated that the author added the darkness in, it gave the story meat.

I also appreciated that the author closed her plot holes.  There were a few and I know if you think about it you could probably guess them, but Toten explained by the end why things had to happen the way they did.  I would have personally liked the holes tied a bit tighter bit I am thankful the author showed she knew what her holes were and tried to fix them. 

My only pet peeve was that I wanted more Johnny!  In the beginning Kate intrigued me because she was so cold and I wanted to know her end game, but by the end I was really rooting for her and I wanted her with Johnny.  That's not like me since I am not a romancey person at the moment, but I totally wanted them together.  I would have loved a few more scenes with him because what I got wasn't enough.

I also really liked the secondary characters.  Mrs. Chen and Serena were very interesting and again if we were given a sequel I would love for both of them to have more screen time.

All in all this was a very solid psychological thriller that totally grabbed me and I just have to say one more time I want a sequel!!!!

4 snowflakes

Giveaway!
 One lucky reader will receive their very own copy of Beware That Girl!
Us only
Good luck!



8 comments:

  1. sounds very intriguing ;) thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the school setting for this one. Just from reading this review, I can tell that It's dark and twisted.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love thrillers and this is one I will enjoy (while hugging my teddy bear).

    ReplyDelete
  4. OOoooh this book sounds WICKED! I love me a good thriller!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Multiple mysteries? Count me in. I hate being able to figure it out before the characters, I have a very good feeling about this one.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This book sounds like an interesting read! I do enjoy a good mystery!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I highly recommend reading The Girl on the Train: A Novel.
    I just finished reading it today, and I think its a really interesting book.

    I ordered mine off Amazon and they delivered it in only two days.
    Here is a link for the book on Amazon:
    The Girl on the Train: A Novel

    ReplyDelete